v line


The Congress; and the Office of the Architect of the Capitol, the U.S. Botanic Garden, the General Accounting Office, the Government Printing Office, the Library of Congress, the Office of Technology Assessment, the Congressional Budget Office, the U.S. Capitol Police, and any other agency, entity, office, or commission established in the legislative branch. 18 U.S.C.


That body of people in the state which has the power of making laws.

By the U.S. Constitution, Art.I, S.1, all legislative powers granted by it are vested in the Congress of the United States, which consist of a Senate and House Of Representatives.

It requires the consent of a majority of each branch of the legislature in order to enact a law and then it must be approved by the President of the United States or in case of his refusal, by two-thirds of each house. Art.I, S.7.

Most of the states' constitutions contain provisions similar to those of the federal government.

In general, under the 'seperation of powers' doctrine, the legislature does not exercise judicial functions; yet there are particular exceptions, such as impeachment.