From the 'Lectric Law Library's Lexicon
Supreme Court, U.S.


The Supreme Court of the United States consists of nine justices appointed for life by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate.

One justice is appointed as the Chief Justice and has additional administrative duties related both to the Supreme Court and to the entire federal court system. Each justice is assigned to one of the courts of appeals for emergency responses.

The Supreme Court meets on the first Monday of October each year and usually continues in session through June. The Supreme Court receives and disposes of about 5,000 cases each year, most by a brief decision that the subject matter is either not proper or not of sufficient importance to warrant review by the full court. Cases are heard en banc, which means by all the justices sitting together in open court. Each year the court decides about 150 cases of great national importance and interest, and about three-fourths of such decisions are announced in full published opinions.

The Supreme Court is located across the street from the U.S. Capitol Building in Washington, D.C.