v line

As of Spring '95, the following (38) states required lawyers to take mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) courses in order to practice law within that particular jurisdiction.

Search The Library


SOME MAIN ROOMS

LEGAL TOPIC AREAS

MISC BUSHWAH

PREMIUM ROOMS

Follow Us!



Our Most Popular Article:
Power of Attorney
Our Most Popular Page:
Free Legal Forms
Our Newest Article: Personal Finance Guide

line
line

As of Spring '95, the following (38) states required lawyers to take mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) courses in order to practice law within that particular jurisdiction:

STATE REQUIREMENTS

Alabama 12 hours per calendar year.
Reporting date: December 31

Arizona
5 hours including 3 hours ethics.
Reporting date: September 15

Arkansas ??

California
36 hrs. per 3-year period including 8 hrs. legal ethics/law practice management of which 4 hrs. must be legal ethics; 1 hr. substance abuse/emotional distress and 1 hr. elimination of bias.
Reporting date: January 31.

Colorado
45 hours per 3-year period including 7 hours legal ethics.
Reporting date: anytime within 3 year period.

Delaware
30 hours per 2-year period including 3 hrs. ethics.
Reporting date: July 31

Florida
30 hrs. per 3-year period including 2 hrs.legal ethics.
Reporting date: assigned month every 3 years.

Georgia
12 hours per year including 1 hour legal ethics, 1 hour professionalism and 1 hour trial.
Reporting date: January 31.

Idaho
30 hours per 3-year period including 2 hrs. legal ethics and/or professionalism.
Reporting date: every 3rd year depending on year of admission.

Indiana
36 hours per 3 year period with 6 hour minimum per yr.
Reporting date: December 31.

Iowa
15 hours per calendar year including 2 hours legal ethics every 2 years.
Reporting date: March 1.

Kansas
12 hours per year including 2 hrs. legal ethics.
Reporting date: 30 days after program.

Kentucky
15 hours per year including 2 hrs legal ethics.
Reporting date: June 30

Louisiana
15 hrs. per year including 1 hr. legal ethics.
Reporting date: January 31.

Minnesota
45 hours per 3-year period.
Reporting date: August 30.

Mississippi
12 hours per year including 1 hour legal ethics/professional responsibility.
Reporting date: July 31.

Missouri
15 hours per year including 3 hours ethics every 3 years.
Reporting date July 31.

Montana
15 hours per year.
Reporting date: March 1.

Nevada
12 hours per year of which 2 must be in ethics.
Reporting date: March 1

New Hampshire
12 hours per year including 2 hours legal ethics/professional responsibility.
Reporting date: August 1.

New Mexico
15 hours per year including 1 hour ethics or code of professional responsibility.
Reporting date: prior to March 1 annually.

No. Carolina
12 hours per year including 2 hours ethics/professional responsibility or professional liability.
Reporting date: February 28.

No. Dakota
45 hours per 3 year period, 3 of the 45 hours must be in ethics.
Reporting date: June 30

Ohio
24 hours per 2 years including 2 hours ethics and substance abuse.
Reporting date: every 2 years on January 31.

Oklahoma
12 hours per year including 1 hour ethics.
Reporting date: February 15.

Oregon
45 hours per 3-year period including 6 hours ethics.
Reporting date: every 3 years.

Pennsylvania
Credit hours depend on your reporting group/cycle. The required amount ranges from 6 to 9 credits , with 1 hour of ethics in each group.
Reporting date: 30 days after program.

Rhode Island
10 hours per year including 2 hours ethics.
Reporting date July 1-June 30 annually.

So. Carolina
14 hours per year including 2 hours ethics.
Reporting date: January 15.

Tennessee
15 hours per year in addition 3 hours ethics per year.
Reporting date March 1.

Texas
15 hours per year including 1 hour ethics.
Reporting date: last day of birth month each year.

Utah
24 hours per 2-year period including 3 hours ethics.
Reporting date: end of second year compliance period.

Vermont
20 hours per 2-yr. period including 2 hours of ethics.
Reporting date: July 15.

Virginia
12 hours per year including 2 hours ethics.
Reporting date June 30.

Washington
45 hours over 3 years.
Reporting January 31.

West Virginia
24 hours per 2-year period including 3 hours ethics or office management.
Reporting date: June 30 every 2 years.

Wisconsin
30 hours per 2-year period including 3 hours ethics.
Reporting date: December 31st every other year.

Wyoming
15 hours per year.
Reporting date: January 30.

For specific information on mandatory continuing legal education, please refer to your state's MCLE rules and procedures. Use the telephone number below to contact your state's MCLE agency for further information.

MCLE State Contacts and Minutes/Credit Hour

CONTACT SELF- IN-HOUSE
STATE PHONE STUDY STUDY

Alabama 205/269-1515 n/a 60
Arizona 602/252-4804 60 60
Arkansas 501/664-8737 n/a 60
California 415/241-2130 60 60
Colorado 303/893-8094 50 50
Delaware 302/658-5856 n/a 60
Florida 904/561-5842 50 50
Georgia 404/527-8700 n/a 60
Idaho 208/342-8958 n/a 60
Indiana 317/232-1943 n/a n/a
Iowa 515/246-8076 n/a 60
Kansas 913/357-6510 n/a 50
Kentucky 502/564-3795 n/a 50
Louisiana 504/566-1600 n/a n/a
Minnesota 612/297-1800 n/a 60
Mississippi 601/359-5535 n/a n/a
Missouri 314/635-4128 50 50
Montana 406/442-7660 60 60
Nevada 702/329-4443 n/a 60
New Hampshire 603/224-6942 60 60
New Mexico 505/842-6132 50 50
North Carolina 919/733-0123 n/a n/a
North Dakota 701/255-1404 60 60
Ohio 614/644-5470 n/a 60
Oklahoma 405/524-2365 n/a 50
Oregon 503/620-0222 60 60
Rhode Island 401/277-4942 n/a 50
South Carolina 803/799-5578 n/a 60
Tennessee 615/741-3096 n/a n/a
Texas 512/463-1442 60 60
Utah 801/531-9077 n/a n/a
Vermont 802/828-3281 n/a 60
Virginia 804/775-0577 n/a 60
Washington 206/448-0433 60 60
West Virginia 304/558-2456 50 50
Wisconsin 608/266-9760 n/a 50
Wyoming 307/632-9061 n/a 60

-----
Brought to you by - The 'Lectric Law Library
The Net's Finest Legal Resource for Legal Pros & Laypeople Alike.
http://www.lectlaw.com

Google+